Home › Special needs
Special needs

Special-needs schools and disability ESA funding in Tucson

For a student with an IEP, MET report or 504 plan, the ESA can be worth far more than the base amount. Here are Pima County schools with a special-education focus and the services the account can cover.

Where this comes from. School listings were checked on October 12, 2026. Enrollment and grades come from the U.S. Department of Education's Private School Survey (NCES, 2023-24 and 2021-22); STO listings come from the published school lists of Arizona School Tuition Organizations. CTSO's list was not part of our match. No public source shows tuition or which schools take ESA payments, so confirm both with the school.

Pima County has only a handful of schools built specifically around disabilities, so many Tucson families blend a mainstream private school with outside therapy paid from the account. The disability ESA makes that possible: the category on your child's evaluation sets the amount, and for autism or multiple disabilities the 2025-26 estimate starts above $34,000.

Start by gathering the current MET report and IEP or 504 plan from your district. Then visit schools with the evaluation in hand and ask how they would use it.

Schools with a special-education or learning-differences focus (6)

SchoolTypeCommunityGradesSTO listsStudents*
Arizona Behavior & Autism
Tucson · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsCentral Tucson, the University & the West SideNot reported1
IBE
—
Autism Academy for Education & Development
6880 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson 85710
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side1-122
APSTO, School Choice Arizona
99
Intermountain Academy
401 N Bonita Ave, Tucson 85745
Independent SchoolsNorthwest Tucson, Oro Valley & Marana1-121
IBE
101
Renaissance Academy Tucson
4064 E 22nd St., Tucson 85711
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side4-121
APSTO
33
The Abbie School
5870 E 14th St., Tucson 85711
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side2-124
APESF, APSTO, IBE, School Choice Arizona
83
The Village: School of Abilities
Green Valley · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Side, Sahuarita, Green Valley & VailNot reported2
ACSTO, IBE
—

* Enrollment reported to the NCES Private School Survey (2023-24 or 2021-22). "STO lists" counts the School Tuition Organizations whose published school list included the school (Oct 2026). Arizona has no state list of ESA schools; ask each school whether it accepts ESA payments through ClassWallet.

Special needs guide   What the ESA pays for

Raising a child with an IEP or 504 plan in Tucson?

An advisor can walk you through how your child's category sets the ESA amount and which Pima County schools are worth a visit.

Start the funding check →