Home › Special needs › Autism & behavioral support
Special needs

Autism & behavioral support: Tucson schools and the ESA

Tucson schools whose names or records indicate an autism or behavioral focus, and how the ESA's autism category affects the amount. 3 schools in our Tucson directory match.

Where this comes from. School listings were checked on October 12, 2026. Enrollment and grades come from the U.S. Department of Education's Private School Survey (NCES, 2023-24 and 2021-22); STO listings come from the published school lists of Arizona School Tuition Organizations. CTSO's list was not part of our match. No public source shows tuition or which schools take ESA payments, so confirm both with the school.

Autism is the single largest disability group in the ESA program: ADE counted 11,435 students with autism among 20,997 disability-eligible students in its April-June 2026 report. On ADE's 2025-26 chart, autism sits with multiple disabilities and severe intellectual disability at $34,121-$47,725, among the highest amounts the program pays.

In Pima County, schools such as Autism Academy for Education & Development on East Broadway, Arizona Behavior & Autism and The Village: School of Abilities in Green Valley appear in our records. Programs this specialized are small, so families often combine a school seat with outside applied behavior analysis or speech therapy paid from the same account.

What the account can pay for

  • Tuition at a qualified school serving students with autism
  • Behavioral, speech and occupational therapy from licensed or accredited providers
  • A paraprofessional or aide
  • Assistive technology rentals and evaluations

Therapies, aides and evaluations qualify when the provider is licensed or accredited and invoices in detail. See every allowed expense →

Schools (3)

SchoolTypeCommunityGradesSTO listsStudents*
Arizona Behavior & Autism
Tucson · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsCentral Tucson, the University & the West SideNot reported1
IBE
—
Autism Academy for Education & Development
6880 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson 85710
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side1-122
APSTO, School Choice Arizona
99
The Village: School of Abilities
Green Valley · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Side, Sahuarita, Green Valley & VailNot reported2
ACSTO, IBE
—

* Enrollment reported to the NCES Private School Survey (2023-24 or 2021-22). "STO lists" counts the School Tuition Organizations whose published school list included the school (Oct 2026). Arizona has no state list of ESA schools; ask each school whether it accepts ESA payments through ClassWallet.

Raising a child with an IEP or 504 plan in Tucson?

An advisor can walk you through how your child's category sets the ESA amount and which Pima County schools are worth a visit.

Start the funding check →