Home › Special needs › Learning differences, dyslexia & ADHD
Special needs

Learning differences, dyslexia & ADHD: Tucson schools and the ESA

Pima County schools with a special-education or learning-differences focus, plus how the ESA treats specific learning disabilities and other health impairments. 10 schools in our Tucson directory match.

Where this comes from. School listings were checked on October 12, 2026. Enrollment and grades come from the U.S. Department of Education's Private School Survey (NCES, 2023-24 and 2021-22); STO listings come from the published school lists of Arizona School Tuition Organizations. CTSO's list was not part of our match. No public source shows tuition or which schools take ESA payments, so confirm both with the school.

Specific learning disability, speech-language impairment and other health impairment, the category that often covers ADHD, share a range on ADE's 2025-26 chart of $8,423-$12,001. That's above the base ESA, though less dramatically than the autism range, so it often decides whether a small-class school is affordable.

Tucson options in our records include The Abbie School and Renaissance Academy, both serving upper grades, and several smaller programs that appear only on STO lists. Many families with a dyslexic child instead stay at a mainstream school and pay a structured-literacy tutor from the account. Bring the most recent evaluation from your district when you visit.

What the account can pay for

  • Tuition at a qualified small-class or learning-differences school
  • Structured-literacy or executive-function tutoring with itemized invoices
  • Psychoeducational and other evaluations
  • Curriculum and assistive technology tied to your filed plan

Therapies, aides and evaluations qualify when the provider is licensed or accredited and invoices in detail. See every allowed expense →

Schools (10)

SchoolTypeCommunityGradesSTO listsStudents*
Accelerated Learning Lab/Green Fields
Tucson · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsCentral Tucson, the University & the West SideNot reported1
IBE
—
Arizona Behavior & Autism
Tucson · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsCentral Tucson, the University & the West SideNot reported1
IBE
—
Autism Academy for Education & Development
6880 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson 85710
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side1-122
APSTO, School Choice Arizona
99
AZ Learning Communities
Sahuarita · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Side, Sahuarita, Green Valley & VailNot reported1
IBE
—
Intermountain Academy
401 N Bonita Ave, Tucson 85745
Independent SchoolsNorthwest Tucson, Oro Valley & Marana1-121
IBE
101
Kino Learning Center
6625 N 1st Ave, Tucson 85718
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side3-83
APESF, APSTO, IBE
82
Pathways School
Tucson · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsCentral Tucson, the University & the West SideNot reported2
APSTO, School Choice Arizona
—
Renaissance Academy Tucson
4064 E 22nd St., Tucson 85711
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side4-121
APSTO
33
The Abbie School
5870 E 14th St., Tucson 85711
Independent SchoolsCatalina Foothills & the East Side2-124
APESF, APSTO, IBE, School Choice Arizona
83
The Village: School of Abilities
Green Valley · from STO lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Side, Sahuarita, Green Valley & VailNot reported2
ACSTO, IBE
—

* Enrollment reported to the NCES Private School Survey (2023-24 or 2021-22). "STO lists" counts the School Tuition Organizations whose published school list included the school (Oct 2026). Arizona has no state list of ESA schools; ask each school whether it accepts ESA payments through ClassWallet.

Raising a child with an IEP or 504 plan in Tucson?

An advisor can walk you through how your child's category sets the ESA amount and which Pima County schools are worth a visit.

Start the funding check →